PUBLISHED ON July 24th, 2014


The East African Community (EAC) has launched its single tourist visa in South Africa.

The new cross-border travel permit was unveiled on Monday by ministers, high commissioners and tourism officials from Rwanda, Uganda and Kenya during the Indaba Annual Travel show in Durban, South Africa, a statement from the Ministry of East African Community Affairs indicates.

Vincent Karega, the Rwanda High Commissioner to South Africa, said the single tourist visa makes the three countries a competitive tourist destination besides putting the region on the world travel map.

“It is also a great signal that our three Heads of State are conscious that tourism is at the forefront of economic development. Eliminating the former multiple visa process boosts tourism revenues and investments in the region,” Karega said during the launch, according to the statement.

The East Africa single joint visa covers Rwanda, Kenya and Uganda and took effect on January 1.

Maria Mutagamba, Uganda’s Minister for Tourism, Wildlife and Antiquities, said the visa will provide greater value for tourists and will facilitate the movement of people throughout the Great Rift Valley states that share a lot in common.

“It provides a diverse range of natural and cultural attractions. The initiative will also make the region more competitive and reduce the cost of doing business, promoting regional economic growth,” Mutagamba told media in Durban.

The introduction of the joint tourist visa has so far boosted regional travel, adding value to the tourism products of the three countries. It has also highlighted the diversity of East Africa.

The tourist cross-border visa between Kenya, Rwanda and Uganda costs $100 (about Rwf69,000).

Before the establishment of the single entry visa, for Kenya and Uganda it was $50, while it was $30 for Rwanda.

Source: The New Times

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of TradeMark Africa.