Thematic Area: Common Market

Workers on the move in the East African Community

Uganda, along with Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda and Burundi, is a member of the East African Community (EAC). The EAC has established a Customs Union, and a Common Market. It is due to establish a Monetary Union, and is ultimately moving towards Political Federation. This report does a brief overview of the different initiatives within the program and their impacts.